Secondary menu


Media line: 1-877-877-9515

E-mail address for media:

Subscribe to e-mail updates

Key dates for media

By-elections in
Battlefords–Lloydminster (Saskatchewan),
Bonavista–Burin–Trinity (Newfoundland and Labrador),
Scarborough–Agincourt (Ontario),
and South Surrey–White Rock (British Columbia)

December 1-4

Advance polls are open from noon to 8 p.m. local time

December 4

Elections Canada announces final spending limits for registered parties and candidates

December 5

Registration closes until election day
The deadline to apply to vote by mail or to vote by special ballot at an Elections Canada office is 6:00 pm local time*, if you apply at an Elections Canada office, and 6:00 pm Eastern Time if you apply online or by sending an application to Elections Canada in Ottawa

* Central Time in Battlefords–Lloydminster

December 11

Election day. Polls are open:

  • 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. CT in Battlefords–Lloydminster
  • 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m. NT in Bonavista–Burin–Trinity
  • 9:30 a.m. to 9:30 p.m. ET in Scarborough–Agincourt
  • 7:00 a.m. to 7:00 p.m. PT in South Surrey–White Rock

Shortly after polls close, this website begins to show preliminary election results

Recent activities

Nov. 17, 2017

Nov. 9, 2017

Nov. 9, 2017

December 11 by-elections

Political financing

Information on the 2015 general election

Official turnout



Related Info: