open Secondary menu

The Role of the Electoral Boundaries Commissions in the Federal Redistribution Process

Ten independent electoral boundaries commissions one in each province are established to revise the electoral district boundaries in their province.

Each commission is composed of three members. It is chaired by a judge appointed by the chief justice of the province and has two other members appointed by the Speaker of the House of Commons.

The commissions each work separately to:

It is important to note that commissions do consider the input received from Canadians and members of the House of Commons when determining the boundaries. However, as independent bodies, they make all final decisions as to where these boundaries will lie.