open Secondary menu

2014–15 Departmental Performance Report

Chief Electoral Officer's Message

I am pleased to present Elections Canada's 2014–15 Departmental Performance Report, which describes the agency's progress toward its multi-year plans and priorities during the past fiscal year.

The 2014–15 fiscal year presented significant challenges for Elections Canada as the agency had to complete the implementation of the 2013 Representation Order which increased the number of electoral districts by 30 to 338, finalize service improvements and implement major legislative changes in preparation for conducting the 2015 general election. Through the period, the agency remained focused on ensuring that Canadians benefit from: well-planned and administered elections; reliable electoral information and positive voting experiences; opportunities to exercise their voting franchise with ease; improved compliance by poll workers with procedures; and the increased ability by Elections Canada to respond to incidents that may interfere with voter participation.

During the last fiscal year, the agency implemented the changes introduced by the Fair Elections Act (Bill C-23), which received Royal Assent on June 19, 2014. Some of the changes introduced by the legislation include:

Over the period, Elections Canada finalized its planned administrative improvements for the 2015 general election to provide more convenient services to electors, reduce barriers to registration and voting, and improve compliance by poll officials.

By March 2015, the agency had achieved essential readiness for the 2015 general election. Elections Canada had in place the key elements of its systems, procedures, instructions, material and supplies, and had trained the core personnel required to conduct the election.

Within the reporting period, Elections Canada successfully delivered a total of six by-elections: in the electoral districts of Fort McMurray–Athabasca, Macleod, Scarborough–Agincourt and Trinity–Spadina on June 30, 2014; and in the electoral districts of Whitby–Oshawa and Yellowhead on November 17, 2014.

Marc Mayrand
Chief Electoral Officer of Canada