open Secondary menu

By-elections September 17, 2007 – Official Voting Results

Synopsis of the official voting results

Note to the reader

Electors on the lists

For the September 17, 2007, by-elections, the final lists of electors, established after election day under section 109 of the Canada Elections Act, included:

Voting under the Special Voting Rules

The Special Voting Rules allow voting by special ballot, by mail or in person at the local Elections Canada office. If electors are away from their electoral districts, they can also register to vote with Elections Canada in Ottawa. Official voting results under the Special Voting Rules are broken down into two groups.

Under Group 1, we report results of votes cast by the following categories of electors:

Under Group 2, we report results of votes cast by the following categories of electors:

Rounding of figures

Because the figures given in the tables in this report were rounded, there may be some discrepancies in the totals.

Short forms of political affiliations used in this report

Bloc Québécois
Bloc Québécois

Canadian Action Party

Conservative Party of Canada

Green Party
Green Party of Canada


Liberal Party of Canada

NDP-New Democratic Party
New Democratic Party

Table 3. Number of electors and polling stations
Electoral district Population* Electors on the final lists Ordinary
polling stations
Advance polling stations Total polling stations
Stationary Mobile
Outremont 95,771 64,438 156 3 7 166
Roberval–Lac-Saint-Jean 78,895 63,050 167 10 15 192
Saint-Hyacinthe–Bagot 95,983 76,005 200 9 13 222

*Based on 2006 Census of Population, Statistics Canada. Includes Canadian and non-Canadian citizens of all ages.

Table 4. Number of ballots cast and voter turnout
Electoral district Population* Electors
on the final lists
Valid ballots Rejected ballots Total
ballots cast
Percentage of voter turnout
Outremont 95,771 64,438 23,943 175 24,118 37.4
Roberval–Lac-Saint-Jean 78,895 63,050 29,262 265 29,527 46.8
Saint-Hyacinthe–Bagot 95,983 76,005 31,936 534 32,470 42.7

*Based on 2006 Census of Population, Statistics Canada. Includes Canadian and non-Canadian citizens of all ages.

Table 5. List of candidates and individual results
Electoral district Candidate and affiliation Place of residence Occupation Votes obtained Percentage of valid votes
Outremont Thomas Mulcair
(New Democratic Party)
Beaconsfield Lawyer 11,374 47.50
  Jocelyn Coulon
(Liberal Party of Canada)
Montréal Professor 6,933 28.95
  Jean-Paul Gilson
(Bloc Québécois)
Outremont Psychoanalyst 2,618 10.93
  Gilles Duguay
(Conservative Party of Canada)
Val-David Diplomat 2,052 8.57
  François Pilon
(Green Party of Canada)
Montréal Self-employed 529 2.20
  François Yo Gourd
Montréal Poet 145 0.60
  Mahmood Raza Baig (Independent) Montréal Journalist 78 0.32
  Jocelyne Leduc
Saint-Hippolyte Student 61 0.25
  Romain Angeles
Montréal Tutor 46 0.19
  Alexandre Amirizian
(Canadian Action Party)
Longueuil Student 45 0.18
  Régent Millette
Laval Professor 32 0.13
  John C. Turmel
Brantford Engineer 30 0.12
Roberval–Lac-Saint-Jean Denis Lebel
(Conservative Party of Canada)
Roberval Mayor 17,463 59.67
  Céline Houde
(Bloc Québécois)
Roberval Nurse 7,830 26.75
  Louise Boulanger
(Liberal Party of Canada)
Saint-Félicien Businesswoman 2,795 9.55
  Éric Dubois
(New Democratic Party)
Chicoutimi Community Organizer 675 2.30
  Jean-Luc Boily
(Green Party of Canada)
Saint-Prime Developer 499 1.70
Saint-Hyacinthe–Bagot Ève-Mary Thaï Thi Lac
(Bloc Québécois)
Saint-Hyacinthe Executive Assistant 13,443 42.09
  Bernard Barré
(Conservative Party of Canada)
Saint-Hyacinthe Vice-President, Operations and Recruitment 11,965 37.46
  Brigitte Sansoucy
(New Democratic Party)
Saint-Hyacinthe Administrative Assistant 2,538 7.94
  Jean Caumartin
(Liberal Party of Canada)
Beloeil Lawyer and Economist 2,376 7.43
  Jacques Tétreault
(Green Party of Canada)
Saint-Dominique Teacher 1,169 3.66
  Christian Willie Vanasse ( Saint-Hyacinthe Author 384 1.20
  Michel St-Onge
(Canadian Action Party)
Gatineau Information Officer 61 0.19

* For Canadian electors temporarily residing outside Canada, the address for voting purposes is one of the following:

** For incarcerated electors, the address for voting purposes is the first of the following places known to the elector:

Poll-by-poll results