open Secondary menu

Polling sites outside the electoral district for evacuated electors from Churchill–Keewatinook Aski (Manitoba)

42nd General Election

Adaptation to Establish Polling Stations for Polling Divisions 081 and 088 of the Electoral District of Churchill–Keewatinook Aski Outside that Electoral District Pursuant to Subsection 17(1) of the Canada Elections Act

Whereas the 42nd general election was called on August 2, 2015, with polling day on October 19, 2015;

Whereas section 120 of the Canada Elections Act provides that each returning officer shall, for polling day, establish one polling station for each polling division in the returning officer's electoral district;

Whereas electors from polling divisions 081 and 088 in the electoral district of Churchill-Keewatinook Aski in Manitoba have been displaced by flooding, have been evacuated to and temporarily reside in Winnipeg, Manitoba;

Whereas those electors cannot easily travel to their respective communities from their current temporary residence in Winnipeg, Manitoba in order to exercise their right to vote;

Whereas the Canada Elections Act does not provide for a returning officer to establish a polling station in a polling division outside the electoral district in the event that electors are displaced from their polling division;

And whereas subsection 17(1) of the Canada Elections Act provides that:

17. (1) During an election period or within 30 days after it, if an emergency, an unusual or unforeseen circumstance or an error makes it necessary, the Chief Electoral Officer may, for the sole purpose of enabling electors to exercise their right to vote or enabling the counting of votes, adapt any provision of this Act and, in particular, may extend the time for doing any act, subject to subsection (2), or may increase the number of election officers or polling stations.

Therefore the Canada Elections Act is hereby adapted to add, after section 120, a new section 120.2 as follows:

120.2 For the purpose of voting on polling day the returning officer for the electoral district of Churchill-Keewatinook Aski in Manitoba may establish separate polling stations for polling divisions 081 and 088 in the electoral district of Winnipeg Centre, and all of the provisions of this Act apply as if the polling stations were within the polling divisions to which they appertain.

September 29, 2015

Marc Mayrand
Chief Electoral Officer