Secondary menu

Voting Hours on Election Day

Polls are open for 12 hours across the country on election day. The voting hours are staggered so that the majority of results are available at approximately the same time on election night.

Voting hours at polling places for each time zone across Canada.
Time zone Voting hours (local time)
Newfoundland 8:30 a.m. 8:30 p.m.
Atlantic 8:30 a.m. 8:30 p.m.
Eastern 9:30 a.m. 9:30 p.m.
Central 8:30 a.m. 8:30 p.m.
(and Saskatchewan in the 2015 election)*
7:30 a.m. 7:30 p.m.
Pacific 7:00 a.m. 7:00 p.m.

*In Saskatchewan, when daylight saving time is in effect for the rest of the country, voting hours are from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m.

An electoral district might span more than one time zone. In that case, the returning officer determines the voting hours for the district (with the approval of the Chief Electoral Officer).


The voting hours listed above also apply to by-elections, except when by-elections held on the same day are taking place in the same time zone. In that case, voting hours are from 8:30 a.m. to 8:30 p.m.