open Secondary menu

News Releases and Media Advisories

Elections Canada Announces Results of Judicial Recount in the
Electoral District of Montmagny–L'Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup

OTTAWA, Saturday, May 14, 2011 – The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, announced today that François Lapointe, the candidate of the New Democratic Party, has been declared elected in the electoral district of Montmagny–L'Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup (Québec), following a judicial recount completed on May 13, 2011 by Mr. Justice Gilles Blanchet of the Québec Superior Court.

The following are the results of the recount for all candidates in the electoral district of Montmagny–L'Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup:

Candidate Party Votes
Nathalie Arsenault Bloc Québécois 9,550
Andrew Cadell Liberal Party of Canada 2,743
Bernard Généreux Conservative Party of Canada 17,276
François Lapointe New Democratic Party 17,285
Lynette Tremblay Green Party of Canada 691

The returning officer for Montmagny–L'Islet–Kamouraska–Rivière-du-Loup will complete the writ of election and forward it to the Chief Electoral Officer, who will sign the writ and publish the name of the elected candidate in the Canada Gazette.

Vote. Shape your world.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Elections Canada Media Relations
or at