open Secondary menu

News Releases and Media Advisories

Elections Canada Announces Results of Judicial Recount
in the Electoral District of Nipissing–Timiskaming

OTTAWA, Tuesday, May 17, 2011 – The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, announced today that Jay Aspin, the candidate of the Conservative Party of Canada, has been declared elected in the electoral district of Nipissing–Timiskaming (Ontario), following a judicial recount completed on May 17, 2011, by Mr. Justice Paul U. Rivard of the Ontario Superior Court of Justice.

The following are the results of the recount for all candidates in the electoral district of Nipissing–Timiskaming:

Candidate Party Votes
Jay Aspin Conservative Party of Canada 15,495
Scott Edward Daley Green Party of Canada 2,518
Rona Eckert New Democratic Party 8,781
Anthony Rota Liberal Party of Canada 15,477

The returning officer for Nipissing–Timiskaming will complete the writ of election and forward it to the Chief Electoral Officer, who will sign the writ and publish the name of the elected candidate in the Canada Gazette.

Vote. Shape your world.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Elections Canada Media Relations
or at