open Secondary menu

News Releases and Media Advisories

Elections Canada Announces Results of Judicial Recount
in the Electoral District of Edmonton Mill Woods

Gatineau, Thursday, October 29, 2015 – The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, announced today that Amarjeet Sohi, the candidate of the Liberal Party of Canada, has been declared elected in the electoral district of Edmonton Mill Woods (Alberta), following a judicial recount completed on Thursday, October 29, 2015, by Justice Brian Burrows of the Court of Queen's Bench of Alberta.

At the 42nd general election held on October 19, 2015, the difference between the Liberal candidate, Amarjeet Sohi, and the Conservative candidate, Tim Uppal, was 79 votes in favour of Amarjeet Sohi. Following the judicial recount, the difference between the two candidates is 92 votes.

The following are the results of the recount for all candidates in the electoral district of Edmonton Mill Woods:

Candidate Party Votes
Jasvir Deol New Democratic Party 6,330
Peter Downing Christian Heritage Party of Canada 285
Ralph McLean Green Party of Canada 1,096
Allen K.W. Paley Libertarian Party of Canada 396
Naomi Rankin Communist Party of Canada 96
Amarjeet Sohi Liberal Party of Canada 20,423
Colin Stubbs Independent 560
Tim Uppal Conservative Party of Canada 20,331

The returning officer for Edmonton Mill Woods will complete the writ of election and forward it to the Chief Electoral Officer, who will sign the writ and publish the name of the elected candidate in the Canada Gazette.

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Elections Canada Media Relations

Subscribe to our news service at