open Secondary menu

Schedule 3

Schedule 3 of the Canada Elections Act sets out the names of electoral districts that are in areas of the country where transportation and communication facilities may be restricted, making it more difficult for candidates and members of Parliament to communicate and meet with electors. Given these difficulties, paragraph 66(1)(f) of the Act stipulates that potential candidates in Schedule 3 electoral districts need to collect only 50 signatures on their nomination papers from electors resident in their electoral district, rather than the usual 100 signatures.

The Chief Electoral Officer is responsible for amending Schedule 3 every 10 years, after the readjustment of federal electoral district boundaries. Pursuant to section 539 of the Canada Elections Act, the Chief Electoral Officer may amend the list of electoral districts set out in Schedule 3 by adding or deleting the names of electoral districts that meet certain criteria. The Chief Electoral Officer must make these amendments no later than seven days following the dissolution of Parliament. A notice of the amendments to Schedule 3 is subsequently published in the Canada Gazette, and the amendments become effective as of the date of publication of the notice.

On August 6, 2015, the notice of amendments to Schedule 3 was published in the Canada Gazette. As a result of the deletions and additions made by the Chief Electoral Officer, the electoral districts listed in Schedule 3 are those set out in the table below.

List of electoral districts in Schedule 3
Province/Territory Federal Electoral Districts
Newfoundland and Labrador Bonavista–Burin–Trinity
Coast of Bays–Central–Notre Dame
Long Range Mountains
Quebec Abitibi–Baie-James–Nunavik–Eeyou
Ontario Algoma–Manitoulin–Kapuskasing
Thunder Bay–Rainy River
Thunder Bay–Superior North
Timmins–James Bay
Manitoba Churchill–Keewatinook Aski
Dauphin–Swan River–Neepawa
Saskatchewan Battlefords–Lloydminster
Carlton Trail–Eagle Creek
Desnethé–Missinippi–Churchill River
Prince Albert
Alberta Fort McMurray–Cold Lake
Grande Prairie–Mackenzie
Medicine Hat–Cardston–Warner
Peace River–Westlock
British Columbia Cariboo–Prince George
Mission–Matsqui–Fraser Canyon
North Island–Powell River
Prince George–Peace River–Northern Rockies
Skeena–Bulkley Valley
Yukon Yukon
Northwest Territories Northwest Territories
Nunavut Nunavut

Total: 35 districts