open Secondary menu

By-elections March 17, 2008 – Official Voting Results


June 2008

This report deals with the federal by-elections held on March 17, 2008, in the electoral districts of Desnethé–Missinippi–Churchill River (Saskatchewan), Toronto Centre (Ontario), Vancouver Quadra (British Columbia) and Willowdale (Ontario).

I am pleased to publish this report to satisfy the requirements of the Canada Elections Act, S.C. 2000, c. 9, and to ensure that Canadians have accurate and complete information on the by-elections. It is through such public reports that Parliament and Elections Canada make the Canadian electoral system more open and transparent.

This report presents the results of the vote, by polling division, for the March 17, 2008, by-elections, in accordance with section 533 of the Act. Subsection 534(2) of the Act also requires the Chief Electoral Officer to report on the administration of the Office since the last such report, as well as on certain actions taken by the Office in relation to the by-elections. A report will be published by March 2009 covering these by-elections.

Information on contributions and election expenses declared by the candidates in the March 17, 2008, by-elections will be available in July 2008 at

Marc Mayrand
Chief Electoral Officer of Canada