open Secondary menu

Redistribution of Federal Electoral Districts 2022

The Constitution of Canada requires that federal electoral districts be reviewed after each decennial (10-year) census to reflect changes and movements in Canada's population. The current federal redistribution process began in October 2021. It is led by independent commissions working separately in each province to establish electoral boundaries. The Chief Electoral Officer is tasked with applying the representation formula found in the Constitution to determine the new allocation of seats. Elections Canada is also responsible for providing administrative and technical support to the commissions. More information about Elections Canada's role can be found here. A representation order describing and naming Canada's future electoral districts is expected to be completed in September 2023. Changes to electoral districts will be applied in the first general election called at least seven months after the representation order is proclaimed; we believe that these changes will not come into effect until April 1, 2024, at the earliest.

You can view the maps of the 338 current electoral districts. Note that commissions were not required for Nunavut, the Northwest Territories or Yukon, since each territory is a single electoral district.

Go to the 2022 redistribution website