open Secondary menu

News Releases and Media Advisories

Judicial Recount Terminated in the Electoral District of Regina–Lewvan

Gatineau, Friday, October 30, 2015 – The Chief Electoral Officer of Canada, Marc Mayrand, announced today that the judicial recount of the votes in the electoral district of Regina–Lewvan (Saskatchewan) has been terminated following a request for withdrawal by the candidate who requested the recount.

The request for withdrawal was received, and accepted, by Justice Catherine Dawson on October 30, 2015.

The termination of these proceedings does not affect the results for the electoral district of Regina–Lewvan, validated before the recount began. The following are the validated results for all candidates in the electoral district:

Candidate Party Votes
Louis Browne Liberal Party of Canada 13,143
Wojciech Dolata Libertarian Party of Canada 298
Trent Fraser Conservative Party of Canada 16,711
Tamela Friesen Green Party of Canada 839
Erin Weir New Democratic Party 16,843

More information on the judicial recount process is available at

Elections Canada is an independent body set up by Parliament.

Elections Canada Media Relations

Subscribe to our news service at